Indian health practice: Ayurvedic Medicine

Over 5000 years old, Ayurvedic medicine is a traditional Indian practice, Ayurveda is translated to mean The Science of Life. The foundations of Ayurvedic medicine is based on the 5 elements; water, earth, fire, air and space, and the body’s primary elements; blood, flesh, fat, bone and marrow. The health practices have been influenced by other cultures and include acupuncture, massage, yoga, aromatherapy, herbal medicine and meditation.

Body type according to Ayurvedic medicine:

Yata: Thin and bony with restless minds.

Pitta: Moderate physique with muscular limbs and alert mind.

Kapha: Broad frames with long limbs and a calm and patient mind.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s